The Presidency is composed of the President and First and Second Vice-Presidents, all of whom are elected by an absolute majority of the judges of the Court for a three year renewable term. 

The Presidency conducts external relations with States Parties, coordinates judicial matters such as assigning judges, situations and cases to divisions and promotes public awareness and understanding of the Court. With the exception of the Office of the Prosecutor, the Presidency is responsible for the proper administration of the Court and oversees the administrative work of the Registry. The Presidency coordinates and seeks the concurrence of the Prosecutor on all matters of mutual concern.