Judicial Divisions

The Court has three Judicial Divisions, which hear matters at different stages of the proceedings, namely, pre-trial, trial and appeals. The Court’s 18 judges are elected by the Assembly of States Parties for their qualifications, impartiality and integrity, and serve 9-year, non-renewable terms. They ensure fair trials and render decisions, but also issue warrants of arrest or summons to appear, authorise victims to participate, order witness protection measures, etc.